Foodie Goodie: IRC Binondo Adventures (02/02/2013)

It’s a rare treat for us, IRC Laboratory batchmates, to meet. Our planned group Sabah / Borneo escapade did not materialize so most of us opted to travel separate ways. Some went to Mount Pinatubo for a hike, two went to Kota Kinabalu, another ended up winning a raffle for a trip to Malaysia / Singapore grand prix.  I saw another went to the US and another one went to Japan. As for me, I opted to travel with my block mates or even traveled solo in the Visayas.

irc1

My IRC batchmates – I miss them!

Nevertheless, time was ripe for another adventure and I was glad that this time it was nearer and is a FOOD TRIP. Andrew, Pao, Xinia,Harold and I decided to meet at SM north and then ride the LRT to Carriedo. We walked and passed by this beautiful BPI building.

P1020526

BPI Building near Carriedo

I hope that the current government will maintain our old buildings and heritage sites.

P1020527

A fountain near Binondo

Since this is a food blog entry. I’ll post more pictures than sentences. Posted below are the places we visited in Binondo.

Shanghai Fried Siopao:

FriedSiopao

CounterClockwise from top: Fried Siopao Stall, Siopao, and its contents

I was expecting a “totally” FRIED siopao, but this is not one of those. Only the bottom part is fried. This cost us about 16 pesos per siopao. I was expecting that I’ll be able to compare this FRIED siopao with the TOASTED siopao of Naga City but this is nearer to the STEAMED siopao than TOASTED siopao. This is still very tasty and delicious!

Next Stop: Fried Frog Legs Alley (I don’t know the name of the place hehe)

FriedFrogLegs

Clockwise from Left: The Alley, the Gang and the fly that comes with the frog legs

Fried frog legs taste delicious! For me, it’s tastier than fried chicken. Of course, we noticed the fly, we played with it but did not bother to EAT it. Haha! Poor old fly, its better inside the frog’s stomach.

Next Stop: Masuki – known for Mami and gigantic Dimsums

P1020544

Masuki – A HOT place for a hot mami

Masuki2

Clockwise from top left: Beef Mami, Chicken Mami, Pao and Xinia enjoying the meal, Harold and Andrew: overwhelmed and overjoyed

Masuki sure is a good place for a hot mami. The place is cozy, the servers and waiters are attentive and accommodating. The only downside is – the place is really, literally HOT!

Next Stop: Dong Bei for Dumplings

One of the best dumplings I’ve ever tasted in my entire life.

P1020550

Filling Dumplings

P1020560

Dumplings getting ready

Final Stop: Quick Snack for Milky Shake

Quick Snack offers meals but is known for their milky shakes.

P1020572

Quick Snack’s Signage

P1020567

Pao, Xinia and the Avocado Shake

  

Leave a comment